she’s a girl with glasses


clarity
October 14, 2009, 3:42 pm
Filed under: blog, writing | Tags: , ,

Two days ago, I was laid off.

I knew it was coming from about a mile away, and had simply been waiting for the official day. I was called up, given the standard speech and handed my pay-out.

Bliss.

I’ve been celebrating since then. I’ve gone out to lunch and dinner, out for drinks, received countless emails. It might not seem like an event to celebrate, not in this economic climate, not with my degree and area of focus. English writing simply doesn’t go as far as it used to. However, I’m one of those people who believes everything happens for a reason. I had a miscarriage in my early twenties– it was tragic and I was terrifically depressed, but when it took another year for me to get pregnant, I was blessed with my incredible daughter. Two years later, my husband was laid off, while I was pregnant and only working part time. Then our daughter broke her leg due to a congenital defect in her tibia. While looking up her doctor’s phone number one day, he came across the employment page for the hospital and ended up entering the healthcare field, which landed him back in school and helped him become a nurse this past spring. It’s events such as these that have cemented my belief that nothing is without a brighter side.

On that incredibly sappy note, I’ll leave you with the news that the NOD ™ is 3/4 complete. No kidding. I expect to have it done by or before Thanksgiving, which is mind-boggling. My brain is attempting to organize what novel gets to come next. I hope this all just points to more good.

Though I know whatever happens was meant to be. Open that damn window, no closed door is gonna stop me.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

