she’s a girl with glasses


already missed the boat
May 20, 2010, 10:13 am
Filed under: blog, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Sometimes you need a little bit of hope.

I got my first lit agent rejection yesterday. Granted, it was my first query letter and I wasn’t expecting anything other than a rejection out of the gate. My panic, as outlined before, lay more in the reaching out than the response. I’m not afraid of rejection when it comes to my writing. I have low self-esteem in most every other arena in my life, but not in my writing. Maybe it’s unnecessarily cocky, but I’m good. I know I’m good. I might fret and panic over my weight and hair and clothes, but I have never thought I was a poor writer.

I am, however, an unemployed one. I lost my job in October and no day job has been biting. Being a writer isn’t as easy as it looks. For instance, they make you actually raise your kids when you’re not out making money.

I make a subpar to average mother. I love my kids intensely, but am often at a loss as to what to do with them. I am an insular person. I like to read and write. I sit and read. As a kid, I sat and read. When my best friend went home, I might play a little My Little Pony, but, mostly, I sat and read. I suppose I’m asking a bit much from my six and four year old to go and read themselves, but she can read and can’t he sit and listen?

Tough times, these.

I am preparing for more rejection, and more of this strange parenting thing. Summer is coming. I don’t want to be a soccer mom.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I might fret and panic over my weight and hair and clothes, but I have never thought I was a poor writer.

Good. If you did, I’d have to smack you upside the head with rock hard pancakes.

Comment by Small and Fierce




Leave a Reply

